Why I Love the MBTA

The scene: I leave work yesterday and head for the train, as I always do. Blocking my way to the entrance, however, is a huge line of people snaking through the gates, all along the sidewalk, being directed by a cop. Sensing trouble, I approach two random strangers in said line.

me: So, uh, what’s up with this line?
random girl #1: There’s no inbound service, so they’re busing.
random girl #2: [overlapping] Yeah, the red line blew up or something.

I can’t decide which I love more–that someone would use “The red line blew up or something” as shorthand for “Inbound service has been disrupted,” or that I totally found this answer plausible.

Leave a Reply

