Bacon is for lovers

This weekend I found myself mostly alone, so I decided to splurge and buy myself nice things to eat. I would’ve photodocumented the delightful BLT twist I concocted, but I was a little too busy snarfing it at the time. Still, for the benefit of other bacon lovers out there, a recipe:

Supertasty BBT

2 slices tasty bread (I prefer sourdough, myself)
2-4 slices bacon (to fit your bread; mine took 4)
brown sugar
mayo
avocado
lime
tasty tomato
basil leaves (again, to fit bread–I needed maybe 6?)
sharp cheddar (optional; I only had Cracker Barrel, which isn’t ideal, so I went without)

Lay your bacon out on a foil-covered baking sheet. Sprinkle each slice liberally with brown sugar. Bake for 6 minutes at 425. Rotate the pan and cook for another 4-6 minutes, depending on how crisp you like your bacon.

Fork-mash avocado with juice from 1/2 the lime and salt & pepper, to taste. Spread on one slice of bread. Lightly mayo the other. Layer bacon, tomato, and basil. Savor.

Note: for those with sensitive teeth (due to some combination of a weird filling and probably less than stellar flossing habits, one of my upper molars is insanely sensitive to things like honey, jam, and other sticky sweets), sugared bacon might be a problem; the sugar caramelizes into kind of a syrup or a glaze on top of the meat. Extremely tasty, but potentially dangerous.

Leave a Reply

