Review: Same Old Place

If you’re like me, at some point in your life you’ve thought, “I know it’s not even eleven o’clock in the morning, but man, I could really go for a cheeseburger.” And you might not have done anything about that thought, because you assumed that if you walked into a restaurant at 10:45 and asked for a cheeseburger they would laugh or point, or possibly invent a cruel song based on words that rhyme with your name.

But if you go into Same Old Place, they will say “Do you want fries with that?”
One of the downsides of me moving is that I’m no longer a mere block away from Same Old Place. And trust me, that gave me pause. It’s your standard pizza joint, with a fairly ordinary selection of pie toppings and subs. I’m told you can order by the slice, though I’ve never wanted less than a small pizza so I wouldn’t really know.

In the pizza department, these aren’t gourmet offerings by any means, but the cheese pizza is second to none. They coat it liberally with oregano, which adds a unique lemon-like flavor. I wouldn’t recommend the mushrooms, as they come from a can, which is gross. Also, consider trying one of the pre-set combinations before you go adding individual toppings, because it’s probably a better deal.

In the sub department, I haven’t done too much exploration of the menu, but I’ve been generally pleased with what I’ve tried. The cheeseburgers are of the fantastic greasy but tasty variety. I know folks who swear by the steak bomb, but I don’t really like steak all that much, particularly in sandwich form. I was a little disappointed with my eggplant parm, although it was ample.

You can also get breakfast at Same Old Place, and there were several people enjoying theirs while I was digging into my morning cheeseburger. The offerings seem pretty standard, so if you get fed up with waiting in line for the Centre Street Cafe on a weekend (seriously, why?) you could always just head across the street.

The bottom line, though, is that the service is totally fantastic at Same Old Place. These are guys that like to slip pepperoni slices to passing dogs. They’re extremely friendly, particularly if you’re ordering  a cheeseburger at 10:45 in the morning. Whoever answers the phone when you order for take-out or delivery may sound a bit curt, but that’s really just because she’s been taking orders all day, and probably a lot of those orders have been from morons. (Seriously, you could not pay me enough to take people’s orders. You know those people who get to the front of a line at a fast food place and then stare at the menu for twenty minutes, as if the menu hadn’t been there the whole time they were waiting before? Yeah, those people order take-out too.)

I rate it “sadly I won’t go here as much as I used to, but their cheese pizza absolutely cannot be beat, and now I feel more justified in ordering it delivered.”

Leave a Reply

